top of page
Writer's pictureJaclyn St James

No Birthday Parties for Jaclyn!


This year Jaclyn St James turns (shhhhhhh) Ok so we wont give out her age, but she has requested no birthday parties this year! As it so happens Ms St James birthday falls during pride month and she has decided instead of celebrating this year for her birthday, she is going to celebrate pride in three cities this year instead.

I have never been fond of the birthday party for it reminds me that its just one more year closer to death! WHAT! Yep she said it. I would rather celebrate the victories and the lives of all from the past, present and future and what better way than to do it during pride month!

Jaclyn has already celebrated in Key West this year for pride and it was amazing. "Such a small island but such a big event", she said. This week its pride in Wilton Manors. Although I have been to this one now for over 5 yrs, Being part of this community really made me and I feel as if I need to be here for my city. Unfortunately its only a one day event here except for the clubs which are celebrating all weekend. However that won't stop me from enjoying the many celebrations going on. I will also be at my favorite club Hunters this Sunday hoping to dance the night away if her feet can stand it! Next week its St Petersburg Pride and this year I will be going to this new event with a close friend and will be spending the weekend up in the burg to enjoy its festivities.

As you can see I will be celebrating for many reasons, for those in the past that paved the way for me and the many others to be who we are and to have these kinda of events, to the present all the friends and people that I know and support me, and to enjoy what it is to be gay, and to the future for the many many years to come for the gay movement! We have come along way and there are still many hurtles ahead, but right now we celebrate, so you see I just cant be that selfish too celebrate just me! This celebration is for all of us!

We think that is awesome Jaclyn and we do hope that you have the most wonderful time and if you see Ms St James tell her Happy Birthday or better yet Happy Celebration!!!!! We love you Jaclyn!!!!!


0 views0 comments
bottom of page