top of page
Writer's pictureJaclyn St James

Movie Review Halloween 2018


Well the return to Haddonfield fills a special place in my heart! It to me is like going back home! I love this line of movies with a few exceptions, lol!

Well we sure had a long wait filled with anticipation and hype! I would like to start out with if you haven't seen this movie stop reading for I may say something you won't want to know until you've seen the movie.

My overall feeling of this movie when I left the theater was it was good. Not great but good! I will defiantly buy this for my collection and watch again and again!

Starting with the way the film was shot had me a little disturbed. It did give the creepiness of the original but I think they should have shot in the blue light way that the original was shot in, just made it more scary. This film was a lot of light moments! I didn't like the way Michael was seen in broad day light or even really lit moments just didn't seem to make him scary! But overall the shooting of the movie was creepy in its own way, I just think darker would have been more scary and dark!

As for the cast, well I have my doubts as to why some were even in this movie! First off Jamie Lee Curtis rocked this part yet again. I'm glad that this movie didn't come off as GIRL POWER and was more normal of a women who was picking up the pieces with her life trying to survive. As for her daughter Karen (Judy Greer) I wish she had a better part. I think there could have been a more dramatic moment with her and Michael then she had. Something a little more dramatic like when Michael killed her husband Ray, they should have been together or something leaving her having to deal with Michael. I think Ray was a complete idiot through the whole movie and was useless. I think he was just used for a kill. Bye Bye Ray! Allyson (Andi Matchak) also was a good role but I think a little too stiff for me. Sometimes she was good and other time they should have done a retake. Will Patton was killed way too early, he played Hawkins. He's a strong actor and should have lived on since Laurie and him go way back to the original night. Although its not talked about you are left to assume he was around Haddonfield then.

As for Allyson's friends Vicky and Dave, they were not rememberable. I liked Vicky's death scene, however the trailer ruined it for us since we knew he gets her. It could have been so good not knowing about it! As for the boy Julian she was babysitting, I think he's a good actor but way too much comedy in all of his scenes, like the clipping of the toe nails and when Michaels killing Vicky and he runs out of the house, I think he could have been a lot more scared and a comedy moment should have not been in that scene at all. You don't get to see her boyfriend get killed but they did do a good job as a reflection to the original with Bob's death seen as he was stabbed to the wall.

Oscar (Drew Scheid) I think had a good part and one of the best death scenes in the movie! Stuck in the back yard with Michael thinking it was Mr. Elrod was a great tribute to Halloween II, with the Elrods. Yes the lady in the kitchen making the sandwich in II and in this one, great death seen although you don't see her die, but you know she did. Anyway back to Oscar, it was great to see that he sees Michael and with the on and off of the security light as Michael gets closer was good but I think it should have been longer more drawn out.

The gas station killings of Dana and Aaron I think were very powerful and suspenseful. The bus accident scene I think was very very good very suspenseful and the poor kid (Vince Mattis) looking for his dad and wondering what the hell happened was amazing. As he gets back in the truck and as a tribute again to Halloween Michael is in the back seat and kills him! This is like the first time we witness a kid killing!

Although the movie had a great story line and killing scenes there were a few things that I didn't like at all like the Loomis like doctor,Dr. Sartain. I liked him for the most part until his character went stupid! He wanted to feel how it was to be like Michael donned the mask and killed Hawkins. I really think Hawkins was a great officer and should have been the sheriff and shouldn't have been killed off. They are making a sequel already and I think there could have been a part for him in the new one. He is too good of an actor to have been killed like that and not even by Michael!

As for the other parts like the Sherif and such I found them boring and not sure why they were even given parts. Good actors but useless parts. I mean the cowboy hat, I think was a little much! Maybe that was a tribute to Halloween 5.

As for the town of Haddonfield, it was amazingly believable. I personally lived in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and visited Charleston, South Carolina many, many times and when I found out they were filming in Charleston, I knew it was gonna be good!

Charleston, SC offers 100 year old homes and Georgian styled Colonial type homes and I think as in the original it worked. And lets not forget about those Oak trees. Awesome location and I can't wait to finally be able to visit the set, I mean neighborhood for some pics.

However, this movie to me really didn't have really memorable moments like other Halloweens did. I mean we all remember the murders in the original. Annie in the car, Linda with the telephone cord as Michael looms over her in the sheet as a ghost and the famous head turn after he kills Bob on the wall of the kitchen.

I feel like it was rushed, it was too fast paced for me and we really didn't get to know the characters much for this reason. In the original we led up to that night with a kill here and there. But we new them, who they were and what they were gonna be like. This movie you really didn't get that except for really Laurie and Allyson. Karen should have had a bigger part with Laurie. A little bit more of a interaction with Allyson and Micheal too. Being that Laurie, Karen, and Allyson were kinda main characters so to say!

Overall I give this movie a 4 Lipstick rating! I love Michael Myers and all the Halloweens except for Rob Zombies renditions and Resurrection and The Curse of Michael Myers. I liked 4 and loved 5 and not many love 5 but I think the scenes with Tina, Spitz and Sammy were good for the times!

So go out and see it if you dare! And yes when I got home I closed my closet door to go to sleep that night, lol.

Happy Halloween!


0 views0 comments
bottom of page